top of page

Meet your #1 Geelong bartender: Gorge Camorra


Gorge Camorra is a familiar face in Geelong. Recently opening the 18th Amendment Bar, Gorge also owned Cloud 9 and has his own liquor range.

By no surprise, when we asked you for the best bartenders in Geelong, his name quickly climbed to the top.

We had a chat with the bar-owner, bartender, liquor-range creator and all-round enthusiast of hospitality below.

How long have you been working as a bartender?

14 years.

What's the most complicated drink you know how to make?

I love playing around with molecular mixology and am currently using a frozen Parmesan cheese foam and maple syrup caviar to accompany my cocktail in an upcoming cocktail competition.

What do you love about the job?

I love the freedom of being creative and making fun cocktails. I get great satisfaction seeing the looks on people's faces when they try some of our theatrical cocktails. I just love seeing customers leave happy.

What's a favourite of yours to make?

At the moment I love making our Boardwalk Empire cocktail that is presented in a treasure chest filled with smoke.

What's the best way to become a really notable bartender locally and nationally?

I guess being self taught and not having a mentor, I found it a little difficult at the start. However, winning cocktail competitions was the way I became noticed. Representing Australia in my first global cocktail competition back in 2013 got me noticed locally and internationally - it really opened up a lot of doors and helped my career.

How is The 18th Amendment Bar different to other bars in the region?

Our region has many fantastic bars however I really wanted to raise the bar. We are a full table service venue and run our bar similar to a restaurant, where if there is no table available unfortunately we can't allow more customers in until a table leaves.

We have no standing areas; this means you sit down and let us do everything for you (no standing at a bar four-deep waiting to order your drinks). The 18th Amendment proudly boasts Geelong's largest selection of over 450 spirits including 170 whiskies and it's also the regions first "Speakeasy" style bar. It has been extremely popular.

If someone was to buy you a drink, what would be your order?

I love classic boozy cocktails such as the Negroni or Sazerac but I really enjoy a local craft beer or wine too.

What's the funniest thing you've overheard at the bar?

Once at my last venue"Cloud9"on Pakington St, I refused entry to a young man who was clearly intoxicated. He verbally abused me and told me he would get the owner to fire me as he knew him. It was hilarious because he Googled the venue's number and rang the owner. When the phone in my pocket started ringing I answered the phone in front of him saying, "Hello, Gorge the owner of Cloud 9 speaking".

You can find Gorge at the 18th Amendment Bar most nights. Find the venue on Facebook and Instagram.

RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page