top of page

Things I love about Geelong...with Roxie Bennett from Bayfm and PlanIt Roxie


Here at Social Pages VIP we believe there's a lot to love about our bayside town. So we thought we'd gather some of Geelong's personalities and public figures to share their favourite places and things in town.

For the first instalment we welcomed Bayfm radio personality, regular MC and business owner Roxie Bennett to do the honours.

Café: My general go-to is King of the Castle. Love the coffee, love Robbie, love going there. That’s my go-to. But I also went in to a spot for the joe the other day and had this green bowl that was one of the nicest things I’ve had in a long time. It was so damn nice and really well priced.

After work drinks: I have very often been known to be at Frankie or the 18th Amendment.

Date night: I honestly love Village Gold Class. I know it seems funny, but for me having food brought to me and lying back sitting there watching a movie is awesome. Love it!

Shop in Geelong: I’m a bit of a Witchery fan. I love K Mart, I friggin’ love having a weekly trip to K Mart. I don’t even know why. Sometimes I come out with the most random things. I’ll go in there to get dog biscuits for the dogs but I come out with all this stuff.

Best hidden secret: Armageddon Cake, I mean, it’s not as much of a secret anymore, but when I found out about that place I put on about three kilos (laughs).

If you took someone on a tour of Geelong: Definitely to see our Christmas tree, I love our Christmas tree. I love Christmas. But you can’t beat our wineries. Bellarine Estate has got a new French restaurant there and I know the chef, Hamish. Best wine going around.

Best Wine: Two Wives Shiraz by Bellarine Estate and the Swan Bay Pinot Noir or Austins & Co Pinot Noir.

Casual Sunday: Lying on the couch and watching Netflix or Foxtel. I’m so busy all the time. I love to paint and I’ve got an easel set up that I need to finish.

Geelong artist: I’ve got a few, but Natalie Anderson does the most amazing seascapes. I want to buy a beach house so I can put one on the wall.

Dinner spot: I love Le Parisian and there’s a million reasons why I love it. The pâté is to die for. But it’s just the location, it’s absolutely beautiful. It’s hard to beat. I do love French food, so Bistrot St Jean I also love that.

Hairdressers: Berdi. I haven’t been to the Blo Out Bar yet but I have to.

Nails: Nails by Tash. She actually comes to me and does them every three weeks. Back in the day it used to be called Nail Co.

Favourite Venue Space: The Federal.

You can follow Roxie on Instagram at @roxiebennett.

RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page