top of page

My Geelong with ARIA winner Bob Evans


Moving to the region several years ago, we thought we'd chat with Bob Evans aka Kevin Mitchell about what he loves most about town.

Having performed around the country, he's certainly a good candidate for knowing what the best of the best is in comparison to other states.

Favourite cafe:

For such a small place Ocean Grove is pretty spoilt for choice when it comes to cafes, (as well as hairdressers for that matter but that’s an entirely unrelated matter). There are many that I enjoy but perhaps my favourites would be Kyosk for amazing breakfast and fresh juice and also the Cheeky Cow with the kids for milkshakes and a swim at the beach across the road.

Favourite spot for after work drinks:

Well most of the time when I knock off work it’s 1am and I’m in Toowoomba or somewhere equally far away but when I’m at home my favourite place for a cleansing ale is the Ocean Grove Hotel, (or the Collendina Pub as it’s known to people who have been around longer than me), as it’s stumbling distance from my house, the staff are always very friendly and if I have the kids with me they can work off some energy on the trampolines in the beer garden.

If you took a stranger on a tour of Geelong, where would you have to visit?

Assuming it was summer we would go to Eastern Beach for a swim. I was floored the first time I saw it, which was only very recently as I’m still quite new to the area, but it’s a wonderful and free place to spend some time. It’s definitely Geelong’s hidden gem. The Adventure Park near where I live is also great on a hot day, especially if you have kids to entertain. The Geelong Library is fantastic for all ages as well. Dinner and drinks would be at The Workers Club, Geelong’s finest pub and live music venue. In fact, I’m gonna say that it’s as good as any small music venue you will find anywhere in Australia. I’ve seen a few of them over the years.

Favourite date night spot:

I love movies and rarely get to go these days so if my wife and I get a night out we will go see a movie in gold class at Village Cinemas and drink and eat more than we should. Last time we went we came across an awesome little bar across the road called Ms Bartronica, which sells cheap beer and is also wall to wall with retro arcade games from my childhood, like Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles and Street Fighter. You can also play Mario Cart for free. It was so much fun we almost missed our movie.

Favourite live music venue:

The Workers Club. Geelong has one of the best live music venues and pubs in the whole country right there on Little Malop Street. They have done an amazing job at creating a little corner of inner city Melbourne in Geelong. If I lived closer I would be there every night. Seriously, do yourself a favour.

Best kept secret in Geelong:

Eastern Beach. I was living in Ocean Grove for almost two years before I discovered it. It’s tucked away there in the corner and sort of hidden from view a bit. I really think it’s as good as any waterfront swimming area I’ve seen anywhere in Australia. It’s free which is amazing and it has an old school charm about it too, quite reminiscent of the British sea side but the summers are better here. For appreciators of architecture Geelong also has so many beautiful old buildings and homes to admire which I never properly noticed until I moved to the area.

Favourite dinner spot:

Hanoi Kitchen in Barwon Heads is a new Vietnamese joint that does awesome, street food style and other Vietnamese inspired food. It’s excellent. I hope to get back there soon.

Favourite fellow local musician:

Jason Singh from Taxiride. He’s a lovely fella and his kids go to the same school as mine. In fact, my eldest daughter and his youngest son were in the same class last year. Sometimes the school will ask one of us to perform at an event or assembly. I think we might have to just join forces one day and start our own Wiggles type band.

Favourite activity in Geelong:

Living in Ocean Grove it’s really so much about the beach and the river and the warm days. That’s the reason why we packed up and left the city behind. So my favourite thing is really just as simple as walking to the beach with my family and smelling the fresh air and looking out to where the water meets the horizon and just letting my thoughts settle and my anxieties drift away for a precious moment.

Favourite venue space:

The Workers Club, Geelong.

Favourite beer/wine:

I’m going to give a shout out to Furphy’s. I’d never heard of it before we moved here and then I saw it everywhere I went so I tried it and it has really grown on me. My wife likes it even more than I do. I like the aesthetics of it’s can design too. It’s old school and simple.

Bob Evans is performing at the Ocean Grove Hotel on Wednesday, January 10. To purchase tickets head here, for more info head here.

RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page