top of page

We chat with Kirsty from Geelong Fashionista


Making fashion work as a mum of two, Kirsty is the approachable and stylish Geelong local behind GFashionista. With VAMFF in full swing, we thought we'd chat to her about all things fashion.

When was the first moment you became interested in fashion? Ever since I was little I have loved fashion! My mum spent her wages on my brother and I, dressing us in trendy outfits when we were young. It clearly stemmed from there and has never gone away! I love shopping; even just window shopping. It's my guilty pleasure and something that always cheers me up.

And what do you love most about the industry?

I love seeing people's style evolve and how they put pieces together. Seeing designers come up with different ways of expressing themselves and the beauty of garments and how it can show up someone's mood and feelings.

What would be your advice to someone thinking of pursuing fashion blogging/instagramming?

I encourage people to start blogging/instagramming about fashion! It's about telling people your style and what you like to wear, see or love. Everyone is different and that is what makes it so fun! It's to give people ideas and thoughts about fashion. You don't have to be an "expert" but confident in what you say.

Can you give us a rundown of how you approach your posts?

While I like to think I plan, as some posts are about my style it quickly changes with weather conditions... I do try and post at similar times each day, however with two small children anything can happen, hence becoming more ad hoc!

What's your favourite item in your closet right now?

My current favorite if you look at my Instagram account would have to be my black denim skirt. It matches everything and is perfect for summer days, and as we head into autumn. I also have a round straw clutch I am loving as well. It also matches all my outfits - when I don't have to take a nappy bag!

Do you believe in capsule wardrobes? What are your thoughts on the concept?

It depends on how you define a capsule wardrobe. I like parts of a capsule wardrobe idea but I think it would also be hard work... Most people only use 20% of what's in their wardrobes so it does make sense to save on cost and trying to decide what to wear everyday! However, I would find it very hard to only have 10-20 items. I do like the idea of keeping a wardrobe very simple and easy to find exactly what you're after, and buying pieces that go with lots of combinations so they get worn.

What do you see as some of the biggest fashion trends next season?

I think the boho theme of style will still be here for another season, so flowy arms, skirts/dresses, off the shoulder pieces and still lots of ruffles! However maybe with some more vibrant clothes!

Who are some other stylists and fashion-savvy people you follow on Instagram?

I love Tash and Elle from They All Hate us - making jeans uber cool all the time! I follow fashion lovers Lauren Hanson Style, What the Teacher Wears, Friend in Fashion and Rozalia Russian - who always give me ideas and makes fashion look good. Plus love seeing inspiration from hashtags #everydaystyle and #realmumstyle.

Where do you shop in Geelong?

I love lots of boutiques on Pakington Street such as Qloset, Unique and Argentina.

I also love heading down to Ocean Grove Boutiques Lamisaru or Florence and Threads. I also buy some items from chain stores, like Seed or Country Road and Kmart too!

What's been your biggest fashion faux pas?

Trying to be someone I'm not. I have learnt to dress to what suits me and my lifestyle. I don't follow every trend that arises, but make outfits suit me and my needs.

Follow Kirsty on Instagram or visit her website.

All images via Kirsty from Geelong Fashionista.

RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page